SEA-TRI-KAN -Day 3

This week, we will be bringing stories from our SEA-TRI-KAN bike riders who cycled across the state to raise awareness and support for World Relief’s refugee employment program.  They rode from our office in Kent to our office in Tri-Cities, then finished at our office in Spokane.

Author Ann Janda, a World Relief enthusiast and passionate caregiver.

“Give and it will be given to you: good measure, pressed down, shaken together, and running over will be put into your bosom. For with the same measure that you use, it will be measured back to you” Luke 6:38

Day 3 of STK should have been easy.  After going over Chinook Pass on day two, I was mentally prepared for smooth sailing, even though it going to be 100 miles. What could be harder than Chinook Pass?

Our morning began beautifully: the sun was shining and breakfast was FANTASTIC. It felt wonderful to leave in the morning as part of the pack instead of trailing behind like I had for the last 2 days.

Ten miles in, I wondered when the seasoned cyclists were going to pull away from the beginners–our unity couldn’t go on forever. Within 5 minutes of this thought, it happened. As we passed under some lovely trees, one of our number hit a root the wrong way and tumbled to the ground. Man down! While the others swerved to miss the fallen biker, my first thought was “This is what I do!”. I have been a caregiver for several years and I know what to do when people are hurt.

As I ran over my heart skipped a beat–it was John. I had only just met him at breakfast! We prayed and helped to clean him up (his face was pretty beat up!) and I waited with him for the ambulance to meet us.

I didn’t feel like what I did was extraordinary. But just before he left to accompany John, Bill gave me a hug and expressed how touched he was by the way I had mothered John for those few minutes on the side of the road.

We continued on cautiously, but there was more to come. After lunch I began to experience excruciating knee pain. I knew things were getting bad when I went up one hill and Calilee had to physically push me just to make it to the top! I prayed over the idea of spending the rest of the day in the van–I can’t put into words how important it was for me to ride every mile–but I also knew that finishing would not be worth permanent knee injury. I took it slow.

When Bill rejoined the group, even though he was much faster that Calilee and I, he eloquently told us that he would rather bring up the rear with us than join the frontrunners. My knee pain that afternoon was continual and excruciating. We took our miles one by one. Bill stuck with us all day–helping us find restrooms in the middle of nowhere, giving us invaluable tips and cycling techniques, and even protecting us from dogs!

Calilee, Bill, and I finished Day 3! Praise the Lord! We ended our day at Old Country Buffet and had chair massages back at the hotel. I will forever be grateful to God for the dear friends I met through STK. Each day I learned major lessons and today the lesson was this: Give what you have. What may seem like very little to you may be just what someone else needs.

Bill Ann Calilee

Ann (middle) celebrates her accomplishment with her new friends Bill and Calilee

Leave a Reply

