SEA-TRI-KAN -Day 2

This week, we will be bringing stories from our Sea-Tri-Kan bike riders who cycled across the state to raise awareness and support for World Relief’s refugee employment program.  They rode from our office in Kent to our office in Tri-Cities, then finished at our office in Spokane.

Author Calilee Moore, a World Relief AmeriCorps English instructor

Day 1 set us up to expect a difficult, soggy ride–and that’s how we started Day 2 this morning! With 3,150 feet of elevation gain, today was an adventurous ride with many rewards. Looking back we kept saying that nothing could be worse than the last mile…or yesterday. My friends and I steadily held down last place all day, but we kept peddling and it was epic.

We passed mountains and rivers and snow–lots of snow! I just kept my head down, pushed my feet, and eventually made it to the cold, cloudy top.

Calilee (left), Liz, and Ann take a break just before the Chinook Pass summit

Calilee (left), Liz, and Ann take a break just before the Chinook Pass summit

I have probably lost about ten things since we started the day–one of them being my headphones. I was very sad about this until I fell in with the last-place friends. We held cadence and sang Hakuna Matata and songs of praise together. My favorite part of the day was when we each started sharing about how the Lord is good and what we were thankful for. I am already so encouraged by the friendships I have made.

After reaching the top, it was smooth sailing. Literally! I probably could have put on Ann’s poncho and sailed off the road with how fast we got to go down the hill. As it warmed up, we began to feel our toes again and quickened our pace. Nothing was as hard as Chinook Pass.

The Lord has blessed me in so many ways: living in a beautiful state, working with amazing people at World Relief, a bicycle & all the gear I needed, just enough muscle-power to get up that horrible and amazing hill…and of course the friends that I’m sharing my ride with. The Lord is good.

Calilee and the almost 2 dozen other cyclists are enduring a great physical challenge and spectacle of support on behalf of the refugees of Washington State. Their experience is reminiscent of the treacherous journey that many face–except not to say that they did it, not to exercise discipline or determination, not even to help people in their community, but to save their own lives and the lives of their children. 

Leave a Reply

